The Undisputed Truth Discography -
Farther Than Far Out

Whatever counsel or craziness the group was trying to give or create, the Undisputed Truth discography represents quite a trip from Motown's usual works.

In the original lineup, Joe Harris's vocals led the way like a clenched fist thrust forward. Brenda Joyce and Billie Rae Calvin offered distinct, syrupy support.

When Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong didn't supply new songs, they rearranged hits by other Motown artists and often slowed the tempo. The better to hear and feel the futuristic swirls and ripples.

Later Undisputed Truth albums raided jazz, rock, and regular pop for inspiration. Funkier, edgier, weirder sounds and lyrics gave some soul fans more than they bargained for. But the experiences--not just songs--could be quite memorable. Especially since you didn't need a drug-induced stupor to journey with the Truth!

This Undisputed Truth discography goes as far as their Motorcity remake record.

Smiling Faces Sometimes (May 13, 1971; a single by Strong/Whitfield)

The Undisputed Truth (1971)

  • Ball of Confusion (That's What the World is Today) (Strong/Whitfield)
  • Like a Rolling Stone (Dylan)
  • Smiling Faces Sometimes (Strong/Whitfield)
  • We Got a Way Out Love
  • You Got the Love I Need
  • Face to Face (1972)

    1. You Make Your Own Heaven and Hell Right Here on Earth (Strong/Whitfield)

    2. What It Is (Strong/Whitfield)

    3. Ungena Za Ulimwengu (Unite the World) (Strong/Whitfield)

    4. Friendship Train (Strong/Whitfield)

    5. Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are) (Strong/Whitfield)

    6. Take Me in Your Arms and Love Me (Grant/Penzabene/Strong)

    7. Don't Let Him Take Your Love From Me (Strong/Whitfield)

    8. What's Going On (Benson/Cleveland/Gaye)

    Law of the Land (1973)

    Down to Earth (1974)

  • Brother Louie
  • The Girl's Alright With Me (Holland/Kendricks/Whitfield)
  • Our Day Will Come
  • Cosmic Truth (1975)

  • 1990
  • Down by the River
  • Earthquake Shake
  • Got to Get My Hands on Some Lovin'
  • (I Know) I'm Losing You (Grant/Holland/Whitfield)
  • UFO's
  • Higher Than High (1975; last Motown album)

  • Boogie Bump Boogie
  • Help Yourself
  • Higher Than High
  • I Saw You When You Met Her
  • I'm in the Red Zone
  • Life Ain't So Easy
  • Poontang
  • Method to the Madness (1977; first Whitfield album)

    The Best of Undisputed Truth (1977)

    Smokin' (1979)

    Law of the Land (1991; Motorcity album)

    Other Tracks

  • Big John is My Name (Whitfield)
  • If I Die
  • Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) (Strong/Whitfield)
  • Papa Was a Rollin' Stone (Strong/Whitfield)
  • Spaced Out
  • You + Me = Love

  • If you've only seen this site's Undisputed Truth discography, then help yourself to the Motown group's biography!

    Top of The Undisputed Truth Discography