The Elgins Discography -
Singing Their Lovely Charms

It's not a long, long Elgins discography, since that Motown group earned only a tiny slice of public adoration amid '60s "Supremptationtops" mania.

Still, with the retro soul sound of a song like "Darling Baby," the enthusiastic appreciation in "Heaven Must Have Sent You," Sandra Edwards's adroit leads, replacement Yvonne Vernee-Allen's high spirits, and the male backups' vocal flexibility, the singers had a lot to offer.

Of the Elgins albums below, only the first one truly falls under the Motown oldies umbrella. But the Elgins discography might as well show the updated lineup's torch-bearing efforts, too.

Darling Baby (Dec. 31, 1965; a Motown single by Dozier/Holland/Holland)

Heaven Must Have Sent You (Aug. 25, 1966; a single by Dozier/Holland/Holland)

Put Yourself in My Place (1966; a single by Dozier/Holland/Holland/Thornton)

Darling Baby (1966)

1. Darling Baby (Dozier/Holland/Holland)

2. In the Midnight Hour

3. Heaven Must Have Sent You (Dozier/Holland/Holland)

4. I Understand My Man

5. Good Lovin'

6. It's Gonna Be Hard Times (Gordy)

7. Put Yourself in My Place (Dozier/Holland/Holland/Thornton)

8. 634-5789 (Soulsville, U.S.A.) (Cropper/Floyd)

9. No Time for Tears (Holland/Whitfield)

10. How Sweet It Is (to Be Loved by You) (Dozier/Holland/Holland)

11. Stay in My Lonely Arms (Dozier/Holland/Holland)

12. When a Man Loves a Woman (Lewis/Wright)

Take the Train (1990; first Motorcity album)

Sensational (1991)

If this Elgins discography leaves a smile upon your face, maybe you'll enjoy more Elgins Motown memories in this biography.

Top of The Elgins Discography